I was inspired by Home Depot. An earring display was born.

c+i gold paillette chandelier earrings on DIY displayW has been attending orchestra camp this week in Tallahassee (yes, she’s little, but the teachers take this very seriously…plus, she’s been having a ball). Upside: music education. Downside: it starts at 8 freakin’ am. For those of you not familiar with our geography, TVegas is an hour away (okay, really it’s only 45 minutes, but you never know about traffic…or how long the line at the Flash Foods will be when I run in to get my morning SF Red Bull… so I like to have that 15 minute buffer). I’d like to brag for a moment and say that we have been ten minutes EARLY every day this week (which means we’ll probably be late tomorrow, but whatever).

On day one, S and I dropped W and her cello at camp and then headed to shop. There was nothing opened. Or at least the stores I tried weren’t open. Day two, we drove just around the corner to check out Home Depot. Surely contractors start shopping before 8 am. BAM! I was right! Home Depot, my savior. The indoor lawn mower display was the perfect playground for S. I was inspired during the hour and half we shopped. I came out with three things: a hedge trimmer, a blower and a section of Moroccan tile-inspired stamped gold sheeting.

Do not laugh about the first two items. As a former cake decorator, I am phenomenal at hedge trimming. It’s like a big ‘ole spatula. Don’t hate. My hedges look good. As for the clippings all over the yard…I’m not really sure what to do about those.

Anyway, the gold sheeting was my best buy. I saw it on an end cap and grabbed it. No plans. It was just a gorgeous piece of material that had lots of potential.

On the way home, I figured out what to use it for: earring displays! Yay, me! So, here’s what happened when I got home so that you can recreate it (there were lots of other pretty designs in the sheeting:

1) GATHERED MATERIALS

  • out-of-use picture frame, any size
  • metal shears/clippers
  • Sharpie marker
  • metal sheeting

Materials for DIY display

2) DISASSEMBLE FRAME; TRACE FRAME INSERT ONTO METAL SHEETING

I moved it over about a 1/2″ to the side and bottom to allow for cutting room.

IMG_0581

3) TRIM SHEETING, THEN TRIM AGAIN, THEN TRIM AGAIN

I wanted it to fit just right, so I went back around the side and bottom and clipped off any little pieces that were causing it to bulge in the frame.

trimming metal sheeting

4) FIT THE METAL SHEETING INTO THE FRAME

You can leave it like this and tape the back with Gaff or Duct tape and use it as it. I wanted a little deeper texture (and less parts and pieces floating around my house), so I put the mat and glass behind the sheeting.

IMG_0589 Fitting pieces into frame

5) SECURE THE PIECES IN THE FRAME AND FLIP THAT BAD BOY OVER TO CHECK OUT YOUR HANDY WORK

front view of DIY display

6) HANG THOSE PRETTY EARRINGS!

I’m using this for hook style earrings, but you could leave the glass off of the back and use it for posts as well. I already have two other earring displays (I have A TON of earrings), so this was a non-issue for me.

Image

Yay! Now, if you love the earrings, most of them are available in my c+i shop and I’d love you and appreciate you forever and ever, amen, if you’d hop over and place an order. Even better, get in touch with me and lets schedule a book-themed pop-up shop and you can get some free jewelry. I really, really, really want to make a few more displays to use in a pop-up shop!

Okay, now that I’ve plugged my one (very small source) of income, I can tell, as always, that it’s time for you to

Read Up!

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them...

