So Last Season by Michael Guevara

There are more good books in the world than any of us will ever be able to read. Don’t worry if you aren’t reading the newest of the new or following the “hype” of the most recent bestseller. I’ll let you in on a secret: I still haven’t read The Fault in our Stars. Shhh…don’t tell anyone. The hype is just too much.
My absolute favorite books are C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia. One of the best parts of being a mother is watching the reaction on my children’s faces as they discover theses stories for the very first time. Old books, sure, but brand new stories for them, and hopefully, stories that will help shape their lives. Enjoy this post and even if you’re not reading the newest of the new, still Read Up with the Joneses!
“No matter how long a book has been out, the first time you read it, it’s new to you. All the wonders others have previously discovered are still there waiting for new readers to discover them.”

Nerdy Book Club

Sometimes I worry that I’m not book hip enough, that I haven’t kept up with the latest must-reads, that my books are so last season. Others recommend new book after new book they’ve read while my Amazon Wish list grows like the epiphyseal plates of a teenage boy.

The co-opted cliché, “So many books, so little time” makes me regret all the Sophie’s choice moments in my life: yard work/gardening or reading; spending time with the family or reading; pretending to be a runner or reading; Real Housewives of New Jersey marathon or reading (don’t judge—some of them write books.)

Still, my longing, which is just a nice way to say jonesing, for the next new read stirs the dilemma that is the book-nerd nexus: Buy now and read later, or buy now, forsake all others, and read now. What is a reader supposed to do? In my family room…

View original post 548 more words

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them...

