Book Anticipation: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

It’s tax day, I know. Depressing for a lot of us, good for some of you. The Joneses aren’t usually in the group of refund recipients, unfortunately. There’s a reason why you try to keep up with us ; ) It’s not for the tax refund, though (the fabulous books, maybe).

Warning: THIS POST MAY CONTAIN A LARGE AMOUNT OF CHIC-LIT. You’ve been warned.

Today is ALSO a big book release day! There are a lot of great new reads being released today, but this one in particular has me buzzing with anticipation!

To All the Boys I've Loved Before

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all. (synopsis from goodreads)

Just, imagine with me, one moment, that all those journals we wrote, letters in which we confessed our undying 14-year old love to our freshman year boyfriend…were mailed! I know, If you’re below the age of say, 20, you probably can’t even fathom this, but if you’re well past adolescence, you know what I’m talking about. Listen kids, we didn’t have all this texting and snap chatting back when we were young guns. We had these magic things called pencils and notebook paper (and if a boy ever had the audacity to pass me a note or write a letter and not bother to pull the cussed strip of holes off the side margin…we. were. done.).

There was no feeling more exhilarating than finding a tiny, square folded love letter dropped into your locker. That origami mess was not easy. I actually still have a box full of love letters from old boyfriends. It’s quite fun to pull them out and read them…also slightly mortifying. Anyway, back to our imaginations…how humiliating would it be for those boyfriends to get those letters now?! I die just thinking about the humiliation.

Jenny Han is one of my favorite summer authors, so you’re definitely going to see her name again. One of my favorites of hers is The Summer I Turned Pretty series and I really, really want to read the Burn for Burn trilogy…just because I love the covers.

All of her work is YA contemporary, which just means that it’s like…a normal, modern story. No paranormal creatures, adult scenes (that’s under the NA…New Adult…genre, if you weren’t sure) or historical fiction. It’s worth noting, though, that most YA contemporaries are breezy reads. Cute, fun, maybe a little foolish in the plot; books that will make you smile and remember your own experiences, but may not be too thought-provoking in nature…which is, kind of the point.

Here are a few more YA contemporaries you should check out. I actually almost bought The Museum of Intangible Things in hardcover at the Bookshelf today. The cover is gorgeous!

If you like contemporary, but want something a little more grown up, check out Emily Giffin. Her books are wildly popular, but to be honest, they aren’t my favorite. Her most recent, The One and Only, releases May 20th, but is available for pre-order. They are good, sure, but I like to read younger character perspectives. Besides, re-imagining my high school days through fictional character (and fictional boyfriends…not gonna lie, I’m totally crushing on Cole from #scandal right now) is much more fun than reading about people my age…especially since I try to deny my age on a daily basis (shout out to the student in drama who told my asst. director that I looked 22…you’re my new favorite).

So there you go! Pick up a YA or NA contemporary novel, fix some coffee or hot tea (we prefer the latter, English Breakfast to be exact…just, FYI), and Read Up! Don’t forget to show us some Like on our new Facebook page and share it with your 500 closest friends. MMMWWAAAAH! Read up!

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them...

