Book Anticipation: Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

COMING APRIL 8TH!!

Angels.

Are they real? They are in my books!

In great anticipation of this month’s release of Laini Taylor’s Dreams of Gods & Monsters, I thought it might be fun to explore some other angelic reads. This release is the third installment of Taylor’s series, Daughter of Smoke and Bone. If you’re looking for a supernatural or angel read, look no further.

This is the best. Hands down.

I hate to spoil anything, so I won’t tell you what happens. The awesome character names (Karou, Akiva, Issa, Kirin) are enough to keep me reading, but the writing won’t disappoint. Besides angels, this series also features chimaera (which instantly makes me think of an episode of Dangerous Minds…or CSI…or one of those crime shows). It’s such an original story line that I promise you two things:

1) You won’t confuse it with other angel series

2) You won’t want to put them down.

I stumbled onto the first book by accident. I didn’t grab it immediately because I really didn’t like the cover, and we all know I appreciate good packaging. The US covers for this series rank pretty low on my list of favorites (probably because the masks are cheap and Mardi Gras looking and have nothing to do with the story), but the UK covers are gorgeous! Here’s the paperback UK version:

UK Paperback Cover = COVERGASM!

Gorgeous, isn’t it?! It helps that it’s a scene from the story.

So, let’s check out some other angels. Besides Nephilim (saving those bad boys for a later post), there’s a lot of writing about fallen angels. It seems the fallen have a bit more sexiness since they’re bad and all that jazz.

 

Hush, Hush Cover ArtFallen Cover ArtProvidence Cover Art

Hush, Hush Series by Becca Fitzpatrick, the Fallen Series by Lauren Kate, and the Providence trilogy by Jamie Mcguire

To summarize Hush, Hush:

Patch (hottie): Fallen Angel

+    Nora (lucky girl): Nephilim

=    A raging love between the leader of both sides AND a war!

Hugs and kisses all around, supernaturals.

To summarize Fallen:

Daniel (hottie): Good Fallen Angel

+    Cam (bad boy): Bad (maybe) Fallen Angel

+    Luce, Lucy, Lucinda (depends on which book you’re in): Not even sure

=    One hell of a confusing series.

Also, the gorgeous covers have nothing to do with the story (except maybe once where I thought…no, probably not even then).

To summarize the Providence trilogy:

don’t even remember + don’t even remember + angels and demons = a married and pregnant college student and a war between Heaven and earth or Heaven and Hell or Heaven and the….whatever. You can see that I clearly remember that there was something to do with angels. I vaguely remember trudging through this series, which is so sad, because Jamie Mcguire’s other book, Beautiful Disaster, is one of my all time favorites (look for it to be featured in a future film adaptation post!).

If you’re going to read one, read Hush, Hush.

While we’re at it, let’s see about those angelic creatures in the land of Hollywood.

I, Frankenstein Screenshot

I, Frankenstein released on film last year and I really enjoyed it. That’s my type of movie, though. There weren’t any “angels,” per se, but there was this awesome Gargoyle Order that quite literally watch over the city and protect it from demons. The above pictured three are a few of the gargoyles in their human form. They sprout pretty stellar wings when fighting and become stony gargoyles when resting and watching. They’re as close to angels as any of the other warriors in these books we’re spending money on! If you haven’t seen this movie, let me warn you that most reviewers hated it, but I had fun watching it.

Of course, I can’t leave out these fallen angels that are causing so much controversy as of late. These bad boys from the recent film release, NOAH, are like God meets Transformers. Of course, I love Transformers too, so…take from that what you will.

I enjoyed this movie as well, and for all clarity, I am a church-going Christian lady, and I wasn’t offended into oblivion. In fact, here’s a cool post from The Daily Beast that summarizes those pesky changes. I’m not here to debate what was biblical or not. In fact, on that point, let me ask: How many book-to-film adaptations have you been to lately that got everything correct? None. That’s how many. There. I’m done with that debate. Getting down off my soap box. Back to the point, let’s look at how Noah’s director, Darren Aronofsky, gave us his version of fallen angels (it was oddly difficult to find an image of this guy!):

The Watchers from Noah

Pretty cool, huh? Their facial expressions were very muppet like…

Also, I discourage you from Googling “The Watchers” for fear you might have visions of lots of eyeballs staring at you and also because you might not be able to get this happy little guy out of your head for a while:

"...Because I’m happy Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof Because I’m happy Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth.."

“…Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth..”

You’re welcome ; )

So, keep reading up with Joneses and don’t forget to pick up the hardcover copy of Laini Taylor’s Dreams of Gods and Monsters from your local bookstore (If you’re in Thomasville, check out The Bookshelf downtown!) or download the Kindle version by visiting the Jones’ Book Shop.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Anticipation: Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you’ve done a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads very quick for me on Safari. Superb Blog!

    Like

  2. This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to
    say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!

    Like

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them...

