GROWING A READER by Janet Gurtler

What a great post! I so often hear from high schoolers that they don’t like reading, but what I think they mean is they don’t like WHAT they’re reading. Classic lit isn’t for everyone. Neither is YA lit. When I was in grammar school, I wouldn’t gladly read a book unless it involved a horse. ‘t just takes finding the right fit for each individual person. Reading is so important for everyone! Keep reading up with the Joneses!

Nerdy Book Club

Given my career choice, it’s not a big surprise that I love books. I love reading them and I love writing them. They smell good, they feel good, and, most of the time, they come in a pretty package. What’s not to love?

If you’ve read any of my books, you might guess I’m a big fan of realistic fiction. A book that makes me cry is a book that owns my heart. Of course, everyone has their own taste. I grew up in a family of readers, my mom and my dad, two brothers and sister all read for pleasure.  We all have very different tastes in books. (Perhaps we even silently judge each other just a little, but that’s what family is for.)

When I had a son of my own, I assumed he would be a reader, too. I read to him all the time. I even…

View original post 687 more words

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them...

